Skip to main content

Debut EP: ‘Songs for the Wilderness’

News & Announcements

Posted 06/07/2021

Radio, Reviews and Interviews

Click here to listen back to the last ‘Leap of Faith’ RTE Radio One program for this season, where Scott and Victoria Johnston were interviewed about their faith and how it impacts music writing as well as performing live in the epic RTE studio 8.

Reviews for the ‘Songs for the Wilderness’ (SFTW) EP are starting to come through. have included a full interview with Scott as well as a review of SFTW in issue 51 of the popular life-faith-reality magazine. The interview can be found alongside great reviews for brothers in faith Wes Grierson and Rick Hill from page 63 onwards.

Want to know more about the meaning behind songs on SFTW? Ross Cluver at CCM recently published a ‘track by track’ walk through the EP. you can find it here!


Do you want to be an overcomer in this life?


White Stone Receivers (WSR) is a new musical project led by Scott McKeown (crave), borne out UK lockdown in 2020.

WSR is rooted in the hope-filled message of a portion of scripture in the New Testament of the bible - Revelation 2:17. Here we read that believers in the work, life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, who are faithful to the end are called overcomers....overcomers as they choose the life less lived, the path less walked, the road less run.

Each follower of Jesus will each be given a white (symbolic of purity) stone engraved with their new God-given name. The scripture highlights God’s personal, relational nature – He is not distant, He has come to us and will come again for us. It also shows His love for and care of individual believers.


WSR Purpose

Worshipping God and encouraging His family in the race to Christ, the greatest treasure, are at the heart of WSR songs.


WSR People

Music and lyrics by Scott McKeown

Vocals: Scott McKeown and Janeen McKeown

Guitars: Trevor Brimage and Jonathan Burnside

Drums: David Benson

Keyboards: Steven Lucas

Bass: Scott McKeown

Backing vocals: Trevor Brimage, Lorraine Brimage, David Benson, Caroline Benson, Jonathan Burnside, Jaqueline Burnside, Scott McKeown, Janeen McKeown and Steven Lucas.


'Songs for the Wilderness' EP

The debut EP was recorded at Zero hour studio, Coleraine, Northern Ireland.

Songs were engineered, produced and mixed by Trevor Michael; the man behind the desk for Snow Patrol, Delirious, Matt Redman, The UK Blessing, Kathryn Williams, The Magic Numbers, Duke Special, Martin Smith, Rend Collective and [crave]: amongst many many others.

The songs were mastered by Drew Lavyne at All Digital Mastering, NYC.

Released under 7Core music.

Music Videos

Music Video Link

Posted 18/04/2021

Thank You Jesus (You’re the treasure) Lyric Video

Music Video Link

Posted 15/03/2021

Forsaken Lyric Video

Songs for
The Wilderness

Friends of White Stone Receivers